Home > Uncategorized > Why I’m attending the March for Life

Why I’m attending the March for Life

A lot of people give me funny looks when I tell them that I’m planning to attend the March for Life this Friday. On the one hand, many of my pro-life friends know that I am a Democrat. They see me on Facebook, Twitter, and this blog saying largely positive things about a pro-choice President, and, I imagine, wonder if I really care about the unborn. On the other hand, my pro-choice friends, including most of the people with whom I work on a daily basis advocating for other more “progressive” issues, see me on Facebook, Twitter, and this blog saying very critical things about their position (though I hope it goes without saying that I respect them all and always, always assume their personal good faith on this and other issues). I imagine that they sometimes think I’m a dogmatic jerk out to impose my religious beliefs on the country and put women in burqas, and/or a pompous young punk who worries about abstract philosophical principles while callously dismissing the very real needs and concerns of women who find themselves in desperate situations. So I want to take a moment to articulate why I identify with the pro-life movement (even though I think that many of its political tactics are short-sighted and wrongheaded), and why I am marching on Friday. I’m not going to rehash the entire argument in defense of my position; I’m just going to say what my position is.

Essentially, I will be marching on Friday because I do not believe that the wealthiest, most generous nation on Earth should have to choose between the needs of mothers and the rights of their children. I do not believe that we should have to choose between protecting the rights of the born and those of the unborn. I believe that the dichotomy that is represented by the abortion debate–the notion that one can stand up for the unborn or stand up for women, and not both–is a tragic lie (and one that both sides, in their own ways, are responsible for perpetuating).

I know that this issue is not an abstract one; I know that, as President Obama often says, no woman faces the prospect of having an abortion lightly. I know that many who find themselves in such situations have to worry about whether they can financially support another child; some have undergone the trauma of rape or incest; and some are under intense pressure from husbands, boyfriends, or parents to “do away with” their “problem.”

But ultimately I cannot accept that violence is the answer to tragedies like this. Ultimately I believe that the violence of abortion compounds, rather than fixes, the tragedy. Ultimately I believe that to say to a woman, “Just get an abortion and everything will be fine,” is the easy way out, a way of neglecting the larger questions about the socioeconomic conditions that brought her to the point where she would even consider such a wholly unnatural act. In short, I believe, to paraphrase the motto of Feminists for Life, that all of us, especially women, deserve better than abortion. Life, no matter what stage it’s at and no matter how bad the circumstances of its conception are, is beautiful. And that is why I’ll be marching on Friday with 300,000 Americans–men and women, young and old, Democrats, Republicans, and Independents, of every race and religion–because regardless of my differences with some of them on other issues, they believe the same thing. America can do better.

PS: Before the March, I’ll be attending the annual breakfast hosted by Democrats for Life, an organization that (along with Feminists for Life) does a lot of great work intended to help address the socioeconomic conditions that have led to the prevalence of abortion in our society. Should be a great event. If you’re interested, sign up here.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. May 9, 2013 at 8:03 am

    Does your site have a contact page? I’m having problems locating it but, I’d like to send you
    an email. I’ve got some recommendations for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great site and I look forward to seeing it improve over time.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

